Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory

Diana Wall receives highest honor from Soil Science Society of America

Dr. Diana WallDiana H. Wall, founding director of the School of Global Environmental Sustainability (SoGES) at Colorado State University, will be presented with the Soil Science Society of America’s highest honor, the Presidential Award, at the organization’s 2013 annual meeting on Nov. 4 in Tampa.

Wall is a professor of Biology in the College of Natural Sciences and one of only 15 University Distinguished Professors at CSU; and Senior Scientist at CSU’s Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory. A pioneer in scientific understanding of the role of soil biodiversity in climate change, earlier this year she received The Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement on the 40th anniversary of the award.

SSSA annual awards honor outstanding contributions to soil science through education, national and international service, and research. The Presidential Award is presented to those who have influenced soil science or the practice of soil science so greatly that the impact of their efforts will be enduring on the future of the science and/or profession. It is presented only in years when the recipient meets the fundamental criterion that their influence and impact on soil science is lasting and important.

External Link (Today@Colorado Sate)